Halloween countdown: scary stories…

When I was a kid, I was obssessed with two series of creepy novels: R. L. Stine’s Goosebumps and Alvin Schwartz’s Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. Today, I got in the festive Halloween mood and rented a Goosebumps book to re-read! Wow, it has been a really lonnnnng time since I read one of these.

What I really liked about the Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark books were the darkly enchanting illustrations by Stephen Gammell. The stories themselves weren’t overly frightening but the drawings really stand out in my memory. Each illustration’s usage of smudging, ‘bleeding’ ink, and line work create sinister imagery sure to haunt your dreams. As a kid, I tried to imitate Gammell’s nightmarish illustrations, but mine came out nowhere near as dark as his! Oh, well.

What were your favorite Halloween/creepy/scary books to read as a kid? Did you have a favorite Goosebumps novel?

 

Leave a Reply

