my work- sculptures

Since yesterday I wrote about sculptors whose work inspires me, here’s the accompanying post: my own work

Most of these pieces are from my Art Education undergraduate days at Northern Illinois University. The first piece is from my studio art class at community college.

First up is a collaborative piece that I remember taking ten people in our class over a month to complete, working 4 hours per week assembling grids of dry pasta. We assembled a 5′ tall tower constucted completely out of dry pasta noodles (‘cemented’ together with water), and then suspended it from the ceiling, dangling about 3′ from the ground. The end results were a feat to pull off and rather impressive given its physical scope. It nearly crushed under its own weight, so it was a challenge to evenly distribute the weight and suspend the tower using  only cord and a plank of wood.

Noodle Tower by NeverMore Couture

Noodle Tower by NeverMore Couture

Noodle Tower by NeverMore Couture

Took 10 people to make... in Noodle Tower by NeverMore Couture

.... 4 hours a week... for a month! in Noodle Tower by NeverMore Couture

and now, my own independent work:

“A Hard Night’s Rest”, resin, found objects, 2008

“Tadpole”, wood, acrylic, 2008

Leafwood (pine), acrylic    NeverMore Couture and More

“Leaf”, wood, acrylic, 2008

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

“Drinking Water”, resin, found objects, 2010

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

“Dissection”, found objects, resin, felt, wire, 2010

Exhibitions: NIU Sculpture Stars, DeKalb, IL, 2010

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NIU School of Art Showcase, DeKalb, IL, 2010

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

(my piece is on the far left)

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

(…I wish the last few photos weren’t so fuzzy…)

Bliss Beads Senior Art Educaton Showcase, DeKalb, IL, 2010

Art Shows by NeverMore Couture

NeverMore Couture and More

(some of my classmates!)

NIU Student Center Art Show, DeKalb, IL, 2010

NeverMore Couture and More

NeverMore Couture and More

(My piece is the 3rd on the top row. I know this isn’t a sculpture, but it was in an exhibition, so I figured why not show it here?)

NeverMore Couture and More

(closer-up photo of my piece- top middle)

NeverMore Couture and More

(great piece by one of my classmates)

Thanks for taking a look at my work, and I would greatly appreciate any feedback. Graduate School is sounding better and better everyday!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

