some pretty awesome sculptors

Since yesterday I just learned I was accepted to the M.F.A. Sculpture program I applied for, I figured I should celebrate by sharing some inspiring sculptors with you! It’s always important to research other artists to see what’s out and about in the world and to gain some alternate perspectives. There are so many endless inspiring artists out there, but here’s just a sampling:

Meredith Dittmar

Her work with polymer clay (my favorite artistic media since I was about 7 years old) is incredible!

 

Jen Stark

I’ve featured her in past posts, but her paper sculptures are definitely some of my very favorites!

Counter Cosmo

This sculpture of a hybrid shirt/wolf is pretty eye-catching

This sculpture by Scott Weaver is composed of 100,000 toothpicks!

Freeny‘s anatomical sculptures depict the dissected insides of figures from pop culture. His work ignites morbid curiosity and has inspired some of my own work (which I will share with you in another post)

Sculptures that use alternative materials to create everyday objects are some of my personal favorites, such as this felt boombox

Felt Boombox Sculpture

This giant monkey made by a group of students in Brazil out of thousands of flip flops is another example of charming sculptures made from ordinary materials

Flip flop monkey, Flip flops, art, sculptures, recyclable materials, pixel show, sao paolo, brazil, brazilian art

Jushua Allen Harris’ inflatable garbage bag monsters/animals are pretty incredible pieces of kinetic/street art! Be sure to watch the video in the link to get the full effect 🙂

 

Cedric Laquieze’s hauntingly beautiful animal skeleton sculptures are bejeweled with flowers and other decorative elements. I’m not sure if I shoul be disturbed or fascinated by these, since I’m an avid animal lover (I’m sure these were not killed for the sake of art)..

 

Claire Morgan’s hanging installations feature animals and natural elements in an unusual way, such as the one below of a crow falling through a field of strawberries! Again, I usually don’t “like” art made of taxidermy animals, but the idea behind these are still worth acknowledging!

claire morgan installation artwork art hanging fluid crow strawberries taxidermied fishing hooks nylon

claire morgan installation artwork art hanging fluid crow strawberries taxidermied fishing hooks nylon

claire morgan installation artwork art hanging fluid crow strawberries taxidermied fishing hooks nylon

claire morgan installation artwork art hanging fluid crow strawberries taxidermied fishing hooks nylon

claire morgan installation artwork art hanging fluid crow strawberries taxidermied fishing hooks nylon

I love this piece, “Confetti Death” by TYPOE. The visual impact is quite powerful in a darkly humorous way!

Confetti Death

 

Of course how can I not include Andy Goldsworthy? One of my lessons I taught to 4th grade a few weeks ago used Goldsworthy as inspiration. The students loved the way he used natural materials such as leaves and sticks to create his work!

I hope you enjoyed these amazing works of art as much as I did when discovering them! There’s lots more, but here’s a good start!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

