What I Wore: Sunday Best for Easter

 

 

 

 

Jacket: Candie’s (Kohl’s)

white blouse: Nine West (old)

skirt: Anthropologie (sale!)

shoes: Nine West (old)

necklace: thrifted

ring: gift from my bff

 

This Easter I felt motivated to put on a Spring-inspired ensemble displaying my two favorite colors: yellow and violet (which just happen to be Complimentary colors on the color wheel too!). As I’ve analyzed my wardrobe recently, I noticed I have a plethora of printed skirts and tops, but not a whole lot of ‘plain’ shirts or skirts. Prints don’t always work with other prints, so I realized I do need to pair some of my crazy novelty prints with solids to keep it grounded. Plus, the prints actually pop more when placed next to a neutral or solid basic. This skirt is probably going to be one of my new go-to’s, for its color (my new obsession: yellow! It matches everything, kittens…), classic shape, and interesting, nubby texture. For some reason, it kind of reminds me of an old-school couch from the 70’s, but in a good way, not in a tacky/cheesy/cheap way. I paired the skirt with a solid top but one with an interesting neckline and charm necklace to bring attention to the face, and also kicked in some Spring-y violet satin flats with these cute flowers on them. And can I mention the jacket? When I got it a year ago, I thought the color was so cheery (again, yellow!) and it also kind of reminded me of the Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Band album by the Beatles, my all-time favorite retro band. Did I ever mention that the Beatles was the only band I really was a fan of until I was 13? I pretty much memorized all their songs while driving to Florida with my family for spring break every year in elementary school. They still rock.

I hope you all had a wonderful Easter; I spent the weekend with family and I made a whole truckload of desserts including cupcakes, chocolate bunnies, and blueberry muffins. Maybe I am a disgruntled Baker/Chocolatier on the inside!

This past weekend I also celebrated a small milestone: I made my very first Etsy sale! My “Little Paper Plane” earrings are now officially on their way to their new owner. It feels good to make something special and have someone want to wear it!

Have a great start to your week everybody!

xoxo Lauren

 

Leave a Reply

