New semester, new beginnings

It’s been incredibly too long since my last update… lots of new and exciting things are on the horizon. New year/semester in grad school, new apartment, new ideas, new projects, and new friends. Plus a few art openings (First Fridays, etc.) to see. 

Art shows I’ve been to recently:

“Invisible Friends” Geoffrey Todd Smith and Matt Irie, Northeastern Illinois University Gallery (curated by my lovely cousin Heather)

Image

“Weird Dude Energy” at Heaven Gallery, Chicago 

Image

 

SAIC’s MFA show… I rolled my eyes at a lot of the work, but there were a few goodies:

Image     Image

 

This past summer, besides working as a camp counselor (for the third year in a row) which I LOVE, I also started my new body of work. Inspired by dreams, I started working in Sculpey polymer clay, bringing figures from my dreams to life. This semester I am going to be filming short stop-motion animation vignettes, featuring puppets made from plasticine clay. 

Image   Image

Image    Image

ImageImage

Image    Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image   Image

 

I did a ton of research this summer about stop-motion animation, and built my own studio with lighting: 

Image

Image

Image

Image

I even made my own camera dolly (I saw a few tutorials online/YouTube)

Image

Image

I also built custom wooden workhorses

Image

 

The Graduate Arts Association (GAA) hosted its annual show this past Thursday night, and I had the pleasure of displaying some of my figures I made over the summer. I loved seeing/hearing the reaction to my figures, especially the delighted face of a young girl and a few undergrads who wrote about my work in their sketchbooks. I also had a lengthy conversation with an undergrad who thought my piece “added new meaning to a pop culture icon.” 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

By the way things are going so far, I can tell it’s going to be an exciting new semester! 

Leave a Reply

